A New Blog

2 01 2012

Well, it would seem that I’ve made yet another blog, though past experience shows that I’m terrible at keeping up with these things. Not entirely sure what to do with this one, so at the moment it’s called Random Blog – All Random, All the Time. Whether it will keep that title or become something more thoughtful and exact, time will tell. So why did I make this? Well, mostly because it’s a new year and I’m more confident about 2012 being the year that everything will change for me. This will be a GOOD year. It’s a kind of optimism I haven’t felt at the beginning of a year in quite a while. And so; new blog.

So what are the plans for 2012? Better with plans than resolutions, right? I’ve never once kept a resolution and besides, these plans were set in motion over the last few months of 2011. So, in list form:

  1. An experiment in getting up at the same time every morning (9am at the latest). Being unemployed for a long time has wreaked havoc with my sleep patterns and it doesn’t help that I’m naturally a night owl, preferring to be awake at night rather than the day time. Two days in now and I can say for certain that I have no clue if this will work out.
  2. Get the mess in my flat sorted. This is a loooong story, but to keep it short, I’ve let the place go to the dogs. Now I have the help of a home aid person (a woman who comes to help me out with practical and other matters once a week) and together we’ll get all this crap out of my life, at which point it will be one less thing to weigh on my mentally. I’m very much looking forward to that.
  3. Get healthy. Yeah, I think we all say that around this time of year. This time, I mean it. Again with the help of my home aid person, I will learn to cook decent food and get on the path to more healthy living. My goal for losing weight is fairly low. I’ll be happy just getting under 100kg, which means I’ll need to lose around 10 kilos. I think that’s doable.
  4. Write. Last year I won NaNoWriMo (for the third time) and bought Scrivener with my winner’s coupon. I intend to make good use of that amazing writing tool this year and begin the rewrite of 2010’s WriMo novel.

And those would be the main goals for this year. I think it’s plenty to start with and as a little side project I’ve started making good use of my new smartphone to take pictures for my 365 Project, which I hope will rekindle my love for photography.

Whoa. When you put it all like that, it seems like quite a lot of work. But I already know to take small steps. And I think that’s the key to doing all this. And I just know that 2012 is going to be a good year. I’m determined to make it so. And I’m determined to make full use of all the help that’s been offered to me, instead of being afraid of what the future might bring. It might be scary, it might be different. But with the political and economical climate being what it is, getting better both physically and mentally, can only be for the better.

The journey already started last year and I am very much looking forward to continuing it.

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 01 2012
Henrik Rasmussen

I know the feeling wanting to blog, but not getting it done, but I think it’s good to have a goal, having an idea what to use it for, a subject to blog about. My LJ blog gets neglected because I don’t have anything specific to write about but everyday stuff that I sometimes feel no one bother to read anyway (maybe also because I don’t read and comment their’s), but in my WordPress blog I have two specific subjects that I’m interested in writing about: Words (language usage, expressions etc.), and traffic (traffic laws, traffic violations, being considerate etc.).

So I definitely think that having a goal makes it easier to write and the writing will help the other way around.

3 01 2012
Libby

Something that helped me lose a bit of weight before Xmas/NY and will hopefully continue to work now:

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/

14 01 2012
Missus Tribble

I almost never use my LJ any more – other than the filter to notify people I’ve written here – because it’s not the place for “real” writing and I just post a load of rubbish half the time.

I like WordPress far more anyway 🙂

31 01 2012
Sleep, and the Consequences Thereof « Adventures in Living

[…] thereof. You might remember that I wrote about getting up “early” every day in my very first post here. Well, that experiment is going… Okay-ish. Most week-days I’ve been up before 9am […]

2 01 2013
Reboot « Adventures in Living

[…] changes, some of them even corresponding to the plans (“resolutions”) I made in the very first post on this blog, exactly one year ago today. I’ve started exercising. Sure there was a break […]

Leave a Reply

